Tags

, , ,

Good afternoon!
I am finally going to upload some pictures of my decorating ideas! Please remember this was all done on a college budget, and I did all this the cheapest way possible! A shout out to my dad, mom and boyfriend Mike for helping me make all the furniture and help paint!

Today I will start with my kitchen!

Image

  • Who would have thought that a simple shipping pallet could make something so wonderful! You can find pallets just about anywhere, you can ask different stores who are more than likely willing to just give them to you for free! The pictures and lamp are both from Hobby Lobby, found in the sale section! It is amazing what you can find in clearance!

Image

  • The hardest part I would say was separating the wood on the pallets, especially for the island. My dad used the sides of pallets to make the little shelves in the front, as well as two other shelves in the back! For the countertop, he had to take off the wood pieces and put them back on closer together. The only thing I had to pay for this piece of furniture was the black paint! My dad had all the other bolts needed, and we just used the nails that were used in the original pallets. I got the idea from here, they used these directions to make a potting bench, but from that I thought we could make an island for more storage and cooking space!

Image

  • My dad added on a towel rack that we found for cheap at walmart, that adds a nice touch!

Image

  • I made this window treatment from fabric that cost about 8 dollars at Hobby Lobby. All I did was sew black ribbon onto the top to frame it, as well as a little bit on the top of the loops to put the fabric through! I fastened this to the window with stick on velcro. All this for under $15!

Image

  • I wanted to keep up the paris theme, so I bought some wooden letters from Hobby Lobby and painted them black, with purple sides! The letters were on sale at .50 a letter. To hang up towels I bought some fleur-de-lis hooks at 2.00 a hook (Hobby lobby has great sales at times!).

Image

  • For on top of my counter I bought a Effle Tower and some feathers to spice things up! Tower was only $5 and the feathers were on sale for $1 each, the vase was only $2! The mirror is from Ikea, and was in a pack of four for $3.
    What I love about decorating is the freedom and expression that can come out of something so simple. I just love the different combinations of colors, patters, and accessories that have such a beautiful outcome. I just love how cheap I was able to get all my decorations, but also have it looking great!
    How are you going to make the world around you beautiful today!?
    -MCP-

